Nerves

25 Jun

When I was first thinking about studying abroad, I remember hearing from a friend in one of my classes that she had just been accepted to study abroad next spring. She was so excited, but by the time I was seriously considering Spain a few weeks later, she seemed to be less excited about her trip. She wasn’t as bubbly about it, although I knew she was still thrilled. I didn’t understand how she couldn’t be excited 24/7. She was studying abroad! Going to a new country, with new people and a brilliant new lifestyle and food and culture!

I’m not jumping up and down excited anymore, so I get that. If anything, I think I’m nervous now. Nervous my visa application won’t go through, or I’ll forget a paper to bring or I will have troubles going back to get my passport. Nervous that I’ll lose money. Nervous that I will forget every word of Spanish I know (I had that nightmare before I even applied…). Scared of not speaking English on a daily basis. Scared of missing a flight. Terrified of not being able to keep up in my classes. Scared that I’ll miss my family and Adam and my amazing friends so much, and I won’t have sufficient time to talk to them. Nervous because I haven’t decided whether to get a phone or take my laptop or buy a new purse or get adapters for electronics.

So many things.

I have so much to do, so much to panic over still…

But, I am excited. I don’t that this is a mistake, I don’t think that I will be panicking all the time, I think it’s just where I’m at in my preparation for living in EUROPE FOR THREE MONTHS. I couldn’t be happier to have this opportunity, it’s just hard that God has brought me a study abroad trip along with a new fabulous group of people that I’m going to be so sad to leave.

But I think this will be good.

I am excited.

Chicago trip tomorrow to get my visa, I’m sure I’ll have more to blog about when I get back!

Countdown:: 65 days! AHHHHHH

One Response to “Nerves”

  1. Pat Burley June 25, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    This is a natural response to everything you are trying to juggle honey. So here goes mine- I was so excited for you to have such a great opportunity to go to Spain and study. I remembered the day we walked through Wright State and you asked where the Study abroad office was, and I was like what for? I then realized it was really happening and I went from being so proud of you to oh no my oldest daughter will be so far away from home that I can’t get to her quickly if she needs me. Then I realized that not needing me for this just means that we did a good job raising you and that you believe in yourself enough to take on this awesome once in a lifetime experience.
    The details will come together and you will make decisions on phones, purses, backpacks etc. We will do whatever we can to help you through the preparations.
    Sometimes I think -it’s ONLY 3 months and other times I think- It is THREE MONTHS. I love you so much and I know you will have a blast and there will also be things that you have to work through but in the end it will be something you can tell your kids and your grandkids!
    Love you ,
    Mom aka Madre 🙂

Leave a Reply

