Cirque du Soleil and Roommate Dates

23 Sep

So, we finally finished our first classes! (In case I forgot to mention, we took a two and a half week grammer crash course.) I finished my presentation (on the horses of Andalucia & Sevilla- win), took a test that I feel relatively confident about, and turned in the 3 page paper I wrote. I feel really accomplished- all of that was due on Wednesday! To celebrate, roomie Savannah and I headed to Cirque du Soleil!

Why yes, that is me. In front of a tent. Literally, we went to Cirque du Soleil and it was in a tent. I don’t think it gets any more legit than that! Getting there was an adventure- we took the bus for the first time, and ended up in the general vicinity of the place, but we had to ask a nice lady for some help in pointing us a little  more directly toward the tent… Let’s just say she was very helpful 😀

Alas, no photos of the show were allowed (and let me tell you, all I wanted to do was take pictures of the people jumping on trampolenes ( translated camas elásticas, literally elastic beds. ironic because they were decorated to be beds. ha.) and swinging from chandeliers. Oh well, we got in one really dark shot of us before the show started at least!

The day after, we had a completely free day- free of class, free of everything! So, we slept in a bit (1030) and then headed out to explore!  I may have mentioned, Sevilla is the coolest place because it is dripping with history. It was home at one point to three different major cultures- those of Jewish, Christian, and Muslim backgrounds. We went to the beautiful barrio de Santa Cruz- a neighborhood where the Jewish people lived, historically speaking. This is a place of whitewashed houses with colorful balconies and doors- perfect for picture taking, and perfect for getting lost in. The streets all connect at weird angles, so my usually brilliant sense of direction was so confused. Also, we found a TARDIS blue door. Score one for Doctor Who references in Spain (and major points to all those who have seen the show).

Part of the beautiful Barrio de Santa Cruz

We returned home for lunch, and relaxed during siesta time, then we called up our brother Dan and went out for LITERALLY the best ice cream I’ve ever had in my whole life. This is Rayas, and it is my new favorite place. I had mango and lemon ice cream (though it was more like a sorbet) and it was beautiful. Pictures::

Rayas, how we love you.

Just a couple more pictures from our adventures, if you want to see all of them, check out facebook!

These have been our adventures so far. I feel pretty confident about being able to get around the city at this point. I felt kind of cool today because new students arrived for classes at University of Sevilla (ps, we start classes MONDAY!), and we could give them advice about Sevici, where to go, where things are… I like knowing things. I like being helpful. I like Sevilla, a lot.

Tonight: Corrida de Toros. Oy. Mentally preparing myself for the death of the bulls (but if a pony goes down, I might have a break-down).

Tomorrow: Potentially going to the movies. In spanish. Love.

Sunday: Aracena! We’re going hiking in the mountains, and exploring some caves!

Monday: Classes start, but not until 3pm. Love that. 🙂

Love from Sevilla, Jess.

One Response to “Cirque du Soleil and Roommate Dates”

  1. Meg September 28, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    As I read this post I heard your voice reading it. It was amazing. I’m jealous about the icecream!!!!

Leave a Reply

