Más Cosas

6 Oct

I am a huge fan of the phrase ‘más cosas‘. It means, ‘more things’, literally translated. I couldn’t tell you why I like it so much. All I know is that when a professor says it, or an ISA director says it, I smile without even thinking about it. So…

Más cosas.

1. Matt Smith, of Doctor Who will be in Madrid at the end of the month. I want nothing more than to go see his pretty face at the free festival, but I also just found out that ISA is doing a trip to Málaga that weekend. Bah. Free weekend excursion to Málaga, or a slightly less free weekend and the potential to see Matt Smith in person. I hate decisions like these.
2. I have recently received packages from sweet Meg, the VanWechel family, and my family, as well as letters from Bekah, Dani, and Tanya. I just want to say thank you SO SO MUCH because these things make me so happy when I read them/consume their sugary goodness. I can’t tell you all thank you enough!
3. I have been keeping a list of fears I’ve conquered and goals I’ve met since being in Spain. I must say, it is getting to be quite long, and I’m excited about that.
4. One of my classes got cancelled. This makes me angry, because it was after the deadline to cancel them… So I had to start a new class a week and a half into the quarter. That’s no bueno. (Luckily roomie is in that class and has notes from the first week!)
5. For those of you who don’t know, I am doing a 2 year bible reading plan. I am in Esther. I’m very excited about that 🙂 I feel very good about the knowledge I’ve accumulated and the quiet times I’ve had, especially on mountaintops next to castles. Can’t wait to worship Jesus in the Sahara!!! 😀
6. I may have mentioned, but horses are my favorite animal. Ever. As such, one of my favorite movies from my teenage years was Spirit, Stallion of the Cimarron. I have recently had this song stuck in my head, and it may never leave. Which is fine. I like it lots.
7. My host mother told me I speak spanish really well. This is a huge accomplishment for me I think. It makes me happy that she thinks I can communicate well (because there are definitely times that I don’t feel that way :P).

I think those are all the cosas for now. 🙂

And, since I just love posting videos, a musician from Lisbon, AND a quick view of the Torre de Belem in Lisbon. 😀

Til next time! 🙂

2 Responses to “Más Cosas”

  1. Emily H. October 6, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    I love reading your updates. 🙂

    Now, I have to lay down the law. I know you love Dr. Who, but if you have a chance to do a cultural trip for FREE, go to Malaga. No question.

    That is all. ❤

    • Jess October 6, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

      Bah. But… it is doctor who… 😛
      Its obnoxious. Literally everytime someone from the show is in a location signing things or doing picture things and we could potentially go see them, we have an excursion. maybe its just not meant to be… 😦

      Miss you, love you!

Leave a Reply

