Matalascañas

9 Oct

Yesterday, Savannah, Amanda and I decided to take a day trip to the beach of Matalascañas. It’s right near a huge national park, and really cheap to get to via bus. We got up (way too) early in the morning, and caught a bus around 8am.  We arrived around 10 am, and we were amazed at the view. The Atlantic Ocean is SO beautiful. We stepped on the beach, and the first thing I saw was that there were thousands of sea shells, and I almost cried of happiness. This may sound strange out of context, but Adam and I had been discussing sea shells metaphorically the night before. Walking onto a beach with so many sea shells after that talk was the coolest thing that could have happened. Totally a gift from God. Loved that.

 

 

After playing with the seashells and successfully writing Matalascañas with them (this took some time, do you know how long that word is?!), we dipped our toes in the ocean. It. Was. Freezing. We decided to hang out on the beach while we waited for the day to heat up a little… We waited for quite a while. It was probably after 1 when the wind stopped blowing so hard, and it was finally warm enough to feel the sun. We’ve had such bad luck with beach days- its been overcast and chilly both mornings we’ve been on the beach. Note to self: do not get up at ridiculous hours of the morning to go sit on the beach anymore…

After laying on the beach for a while and playing in the water, we decided we needed a snack, and everyone concurred that ice cream was the best option. When we got into the town, we expected it to be full of life. It was Saturday, and usually stores are all open on Saturdays. Maybe it is because ‘beach season’ is over, or maybe it is because everyone is back to school, but there was hardly anyone in the town, and maybe a handful of restaurants were open. We finally managed to locate a supermarket, but no ice cream was to be found. We walked a little ways, and found another supermarket, this time with an ice cream advertisement out front! Jackpot! But wait, it gets better. We found the small ice cream bars and popsicles, but in another freezer next to that, we found these ice cream cakes, and basically huge bricks of ice cream. They may have been a little more expensive, but we decided it was worth it. We bought. A brick. Of ICE CREAM. It was beautiful, and actually when splitting the cost between the three of us may have been cheaper than buying an ice cream bar. Of course, we had nothing to eat it with, so we took it out of the package and began passing it around, eating it as it melted. There is photo evidence of all of us partaking in the beauty of the ice cream brick, but absolutely none of them are flattering and mostly it’s all just a mess. This was such an adventure, and probably my favorite ice cream experience to date, although I’d probably take Rayas over any more bricks of ice cream…

we are amazed in the light of the stars, it's all proclaiming who you are...

After our ice cream escapades, we only had about an hour and a half or so until we had to catch the bus. Savannah and Amanda went back out into the ocean, but I decided that I wanted to stay on the beach. I applied another coat of sunscreen (my fourth of the day… sheesh. Savannah was NOT going to let me burn this time! ) and had the most wonderful quiet time, enjoying Esther and Psalms while feeling the sand under my toes and the breeze off the Atlantic on my skin. Doesn’t get much better than that.

After an enjoyable nap on the bus ride home, we made it back to the beautiful city of Sevilla, headed home via bici, and got back just in time for both Sav and I to bring a ton of sand home and leave it in our room, shower, and then we ate dinner and basically passed out. It was a beautiful Saturday.

Quick update on my life: I believe we are skipping out on seeing the amazing Matt Smith to go on a trip to the city of Málaga. (Emily- you win! :P) It’s another trip to the beach that we don’t want to miss out on- and its on the Mediterranean Sea! In theory that means the water will be warm…

Also, I took pictures of the apartment we’re living in, so look forward to a post with that soon! 🙂 — Also also, my sisters and my mom got to say hi to my host mom via skype last night, it was probably the cutest thing I’ve ever witnessed.

I believe that’s all for now. Thanks to everyone who continues reading about my adventures, I’m so glad that I can update you this way, and also I’m impressed because I feel like I write a lot (though I try to use pictures to make it more interesting!!)

Til next time! 😀

Jess

One Response to “Matalascañas”

  1. Rick October 9, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    I am sending your Blog to Uncle Rick, Aunt Angel and Rory! 🙂

Leave a Reply

