Más más cosas… de Sevilla!

13 Oct

So, I haven’t posted in a few days. Sorry. 😦

Mostly, nothing has been happening. I go to my classes- which I absolutely adore, I eat, I sleep, I read… There isn’t much homework (Side note: that class that was cancelled? I’m taking another one in its place and it is great!) and there hasn’t been much traveling. (At least this week…)

Wednesday we had a free day and slept in til 1130- the lastest I’ve ever slept since I’ve been here. Savannah is almost always up by 10 or 1030, and I usually just get up so we can go eat breakfast together.

Speaking of breakfast… Happiest thing: I asked our host mom how to make coffee. Her beautiful, wonderful answer:: she makes it at night, and then it is ready to go in the morning, I just warm it up. This is probably the greatest thing ever. I woke up this morning, poured me some café con leche (y azúcar…) and was good to go. I actually didn’t fall asleep in my first class. I was attentive. I participated in class. I was WIDE EYED. It was the greatest thing. Hello coffee addiction- I’ve missed you.

Anywho- Wednesday. We wandered around Triana for a while, which was fun because Triana is absolutely gorgeous. It is colorful, it is full of mosaic and tile, and there are tons of stores. Those stores were allllll closed due to the holiday. Bah. We did however find a park where there were kids playing, and they asked us in beautiful Andalucían Spanish… Do you guys speak English? Did you come here to study Spanish? I can count to ten in English. (proceeds to do so in her cute 9 year old British accent). Then Dan asks her to say all the colors she knows in English. She probably named more than I could off the top of my head, including gold and silver. Kids are so stinkin smart. But really other than that, I haven’t done much. That is the point.

So, instead of telling you more about how I walk places and sit places and eat things and read… I am going to recount the numerous strange, bizarre, and different things that Savannah and I have collectively noted about Spain, and more specifically, Sevilla.

1)Smoking- Almost everyone smokes.  Not so much that I’m choking- which is what I was originally afraid of. But it is still something that surprises me, and something interesting I thought I should note.

2)Kids- So here is the thing: Spanish children coming from the same family and being the same sex, are ALWAYS dressed the same. Regardless of a couple years age difference, regardless if the outfit looks too young for the older daughter or son, I have rarely witnessed children that are dressed differently. This is something I marvel at every time I see it. We have two theories: Theory 1- It is easier to keep track of them. When they are playing soccer at the plaza or running around the park, maybe it is just easier to think, oh hey, I dressed my children in blue floral dresses today. There they are, blue floral dresses x3. Theory 2- Children are accessories. Their carriages are always decked out with lace and flowery pillows. The children are always well dressed. Some of the carriages even have matching- yes, matching- sun umbrellas. Something we have also noted: usually it is the fathers who take care of the kids. The fathers are the doting ones, the ones cooing at the babies, the ones carrying the babies or pushing the strollers. It’s a whole different family dynamic.

3)Puddles- As my roomie Savannah noted, there are a lot of horses in Sevilla. Tons of them. There are carriages surrounding the Catedral and all throughout the Parque de Maria Luisa. Combine that with the fact that it hasn’t rained one day since we’ve been in Sevilla, and you quickly learn to avoid puddles. They’re usually not water.

4)Cobblestone- There are varying degrees of cobblestone here. I will have to take pictures of them- is this silly? I hope not. There are tiled floors near the Alcázar. There are paths with huge stones with deep crevices between them. There are bumpy cobblestone roads. There are smooth cobblestone roads. All of which are basically a nightmare when riding a bike and/or pretending to walk in heels. But they are beautiful, and I like them.

5)Fashion- I could probably sit down and watch people all day. I could watch how they walk, how they interact with one another, and what they’re wearing. The fashion sense here seems to be all-around bohemian style. Everything is flowy. Flowy shirts, flowy skirts, flowy dresses, flowy hair. Its so pretty. I wish I could emulate it, but a) I believe it requires a lot of brown, and I brought all black and white, and b) it is actually work for me when I try to put together outfits like that, as opposed to choosing what I want to wear. Maybe someday I’ll buy one outfit that is super boho and I can wear it and feel like a Sevillana. 🙂

6)Bicis- I think that bicycles are their own sub-culture here. There are lanes specifically for bikes throughout the city- my favorite ones have been repaved recently, they’re green and wonderful and so smoooooth. Some of the other ones are on cobblestone, but are marked with silver things on the ground. Between Sevici and people having their own bikes, sometimes I feel like there are more people on bikes than walking.

7)Spanish pets- Savannah noted on her blog that it is funny to hear people call to their pets in Spanish. I agree. It is funny to here, venga, or hola! and see a dog immediately respond, which is even more impressive taking into account that usually dogs are not on leashes here, they just trot along casually beside their owners. Sometimes I feel like the kids and the pets can understand Spanish waaaay better than I can. Totally not fair.

8)Kids at night- kids are trained practically from birth to sleep all day and go out at night. I mentioned before how there are people out drinking and enjoying time with friends at midnight or later with baby carriages right next to them. This baffles me. Why take your child to a festival at midnight? It is loud. It is full of people drinking (though not to excess, that is not the Spanish way). It is not a place they can sleep. So why do it? The only possible solution is that they are assimilating them into the culture, at a very early age.

9)Siestas- Everyone knows about the siestas, but I don’t think everyone understands how HARDCORE they are. Nothing is open from about 2-430. Everyone is at home with their families eating and sleeping. I think this is a great thing, but when I need something from the store and I want to grab it on my way home, it is super inconvenient for said store to be closed.

Those are all the things I can think of right now- sorry for the lack of pictures. I am working on the food challenge proposed by Meg, and have half completed the things I want to take pictures of that have become ‘the norm’ in my life, a challenge proposed by Emily!

Thanks friends for those topics to write about, I’ve enjoyed having a mission as I go through my day- even when people take me for a tourist or my host mom laughs when I take food pictures 🙂

Any other things you guys would like me to write about or take pictures of??

3 Responses to “Más más cosas… de Sevilla!”

  1. Rick October 13, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Jess- I love that you are taking pictures of the food and the cobblestones! It helps me to see the beautiful as well as common things that you see all the time now. I am however very surprised that there are not more horse pictures! You talk about them all the time. Pictures of your host family would be nice! Love you, have fun.

    • Jess October 13, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

      Soon enough! I ran rampant yesterday taking horse pictures. I want to someday take a video around the cathedral of how they’re just… everywhere! My host family seems camera shy, but I’ll try to snap a few!! Love you too!

  2. Meg October 14, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Mas cosas! I loved your little listy thing! Can’t wait to see more pictures!

Leave a Reply

