La Comida

20 Oct

So I have been a little bit putting off posting about the food. I love sharing pictures, and I want you to understand how amazing all the food is (as much as you can without eating it…), but uploading all of the food pictures I’ve taken was a nightmare! But, since I have a little down-time today, I thought it would be a good time to post about the kinds of things we eat here in España!! So, without further ado, I give you… Breakfast!

Breakfast almost always consists of a chocolatey cereal and milk, a glass of orange juice, maybe a fruit, and COFFEE. If I'm lucky.

Yes, that is an "American Dragon: Jake Long" cup. It is our favorite.

Some days we eat breakfast as early as 8am, and some days as late as 11am. Depends on when we decide to roll out of bed. (This time also usually determines if coffee will be available for the morning.)

Also to note: our juice and milk come in boxes. It is very strange. They are also sold not refridgerated... But our host family still puts them in the fridge. They are great.

So after breakfast, we have to wait until 2pm (usually on the dot) to eat lunch. Which may be 6 hours, it may be 3. This usually determines my hunger level. A few examples of our lunch foods::

A beautiful yummy rice dish.

A soup with noodles, garbanzo beans, carrots, and meat.

Meatballs with onion and deliciousness. But that's not enough...-

So we have pasta salad too!

I would like to reiterate how much stinking food there is, all the time. In addition to these main dishes, there is always salad with lettuce, of course, as well as practically half of a tomato in slices, cheese, shredded carrots, and corn.

On those sad, sad days when I can’t be at home for lunch I take a bocadillo to my classes!

This was actually a picture from a night out with friends where I wasn't home for dinner, but usually if I miss a meal it is lunch. Bocadillos from madre usually consist of ham and cheese, ham and mayo, or tuna and mayo... and they are DELICIOUS (but I still always feel like I'm missing out on the yummy lunch foods).

Then we wait until 9pm, yes- 9 in the pm, to eat dinner. The first week here, I thought I was going to die of hunger. Seriously. Dinner is usually a lighter meal… Or so they say. I usually still can’t eat everything that is given to me.

Tortellini, sausage, and eggs. Those tortellini with tomato sauce are heavenly. This was our first meal in Sevilla- and probably my favorite.

Spanish tortilla, aka potato happiness, and what is basically rigatoni- meat and pasta in a red sauce with veggies (onions and peppers, which I actually sometimes eat).

French fries (madre knows these are my favorite now :P), sausage, egg, and some strange vegetable something that I didn't eat much of. Neither madre nor Savannah were surprised.

Bread is put out at lunch too, but I usually only eat it at dinner. There is this cheese. It is the best thing ever. I want it all the days. Cheese + bread = happiness. Also, lately we've been eating yogurt after dinner (which is considered dessert...) every night to build up our immune systems for MOROCCO, where we will be in approximately 5 days!

So that is basically how food works at home.

I also took some pictures of food when we went out for my friend Chris’ birthday dinner, all of which was DELICIOUS::

Wine from Spain, it was so good!

Spanish tortilla, this is seriously some good eatin'.

This was a cold tuna salad, with some sort of yummy white sauce.

Mini sandwich-type-things, with jam/bacon, tomato and cheese. Yum. That cheese was melt-in-your-mouth good.

A meat dish in a red sauce- Ah, I'm getting hungry remembering all this food!

Meat and veggies! Yes, all this so far has been a part of one meal. Can you even believe it?

Birthday boy getting dessert!

Don't mind if I do... Postre is my favorite.

So that concludes the beautiful night of so much food I almost exploded.

One last fun food adventure I want to share:: My friends Liz and Dan and I went out on a cupcake hunt. Apparently they exist here, but we have yet to find them. Instead, we found some beautiful chocolate cake and coffee. Totally acceptable, even for 7:30 at night. Before dinner. Whatevs.

That brick in the background of my coffee is the cake. Chocolate cake. So much chocolate.

Oh. Em. Gee. Sugar overload. I was so happy.

So that is a general summary of food in Spain. Sad that I don’t have a picture of paella- we haven’t had that in a while, but the first time we did, we had calamari in it, tentacles and all. What an experience. Its so good though! Our host mom is such a stinkin good cook, I can’t even believe it. So until I take more pictures of the delicious eats around Sevilla, I shall leave you with this::

Our drinks for our friend night out! Going out and drinking in the streets til all hours of the night may be the culture here, and I accept that, but it is totally not my style. Sitting down to a cocktail with friends and discussing life... That is. What a perfect friend time!

Any other foods you think I should photograph? Any other photo scavenger hunt adventure ideas, or blog topics you can think of? Let me know in the comments!

Travel plans: Tomorrow we are heading to Málaga for the day! Hopefully we can hit the beach before it RAINS (whatever that means. I’ve known nothing but blue skies and white clouds since I’ve gotten here).

Also:: As of next Wednesday I will be in MOROCCO. In Africa. I could not be more excited. I am looking forward to sleeping in the desert under the stars and riding a camel. What up. Looking forward to blogging about that experience for sure!

Til next time, readers!

 

4 Responses to “La Comida”

  1. Meg October 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    that was lovely. It’s funny, to me the food seems like interesting combos, yummy, but like they aren’t supposed to go together.

    I loved your little comments about all the food and your host mom being such a wonderful cook! I imagine I’d like her a lot!!!

    Can’t wait for more pictures. I’m praying for safe travels to Morocco!!!

    • Jess October 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      Sometimes, I question the combos for sure, but they are almost always fine, i find eggs and french fries and sausage to be an absolutely normal combination now, whereas at the beginning i was a little skeptical. 😛
      Thank you sweet friend for prayers! I’m gonna go look for some hardcore sunscreen! Love you!

  2. pburley@roadrunner.com October 20, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    What about Tapas! We were very curious when you told us about them! Have fun tomorrow or as of right now it is 5 in the morning for you! So have fun today! Love you babe.

    • Jess October 21, 2011 at 2:11 am #

      We haven’t done much tapa-ing, but all the food from Chris’ bday are technically tapas, just split between a bunch of people! Tapas are just smaller(ish) dishes really that you get at bars. They can be a wide variety of foods!

Leave a Reply

