Málaga

23 Oct

This past Friday, ISA hosted a day trip to Málaga. Roommate and I had a hard time deciding whether or not to go, because one of our favorite actors, Matt Smith, was going to be in Madrid. Savannah has a friend in Madrid that we could have stayed with, and transport wouldn’t have been that expensive, but after a long debate, we decided to go on the free trip and skip out on seeing one of the most brilliant men ever in person. Bah. So that is sad, but we had a really great time in Málaga. The only downfall was that the journey itself, there and back, was probably equal to the time we spent in the city. It was a two or two and a half hour ride to Málaga. A lot of that was spent pretending to sleep (which is almost physically impossible for me), crocheting, and listening to music. So all-in-all, not a bad ride.

The city is decorated for Christmas. This caught me off guard because a) it is not Christmas-time and b) it was still warm enough to go play in the ocean...

We got to the city, and I was amazed by how different it was. The architecture was completely different than in Sevilla, the whole aura was new. Málaga is a costal city, but there are are also mountains surrounding it. It is absolutely gorgeous.

One of the main Plazas.

We took a really long walking tour around the city. I liked it a lot, but it was just so long! It was almost two hours of history the city and landmarks. I’m glad I went, because our guide pointed out cool things that I never would have noticed, like the difference in the design of the buildings in the first Plaza we stopped in.

Roman ruins.

Towards the end of the tour, we found ourself at some Roman Ruins. Our tour guide told us that they actually only just discovered these ruins in the 30’s I think. It is amazing that they’ve been here for so long, but no one knew! At this point though, I was tired and didn’t get to hear much of what she said about the ruins, but we took cute pictures!

View from the Alcazaba.

After our short stop at the Roman ruins, we took a trip up the Alcazaba. This is basically a mini city built on top of a really big hill in what is now the center of the modern city. It is connected to a palace that is higher up on the hill by a walled pathway. We didn’t make it all the way up to the palace (we were starving!), but we did get to see the view. It was gorgeous. One side, you can see the huge cruiseliner sitting in the Mediterranean, and on the other there are mountain ranges. It is quite incredible.

Swinging 🙂

After the tour, we were on our own for about two hours. Savannah, whose absolute favorite things are the mountains and the beach, had already seen the mountains, but she was on a mission to get to the beach. I debated doing coffee with Liz, but I mostly just wanted to sit and relax on the beach, even though I had no intention of swimming. We ate our bocadillos for lunch, swang a little bit, and watched friends play in the Mediterranean. It was a great time.

I also got to have a beach quiet time. It was so calming to have my feet in the sand and the sun on my face, just reading and drinking a Fanta. Ah. This is my life.

The saddest part of the day came after the beach, when we all had a craving for ice cream. We went into a store, and found Ben & Jerry’s, but alas, it was 7.10 EURO, which puts it at over ten dollars for this itty bitty thing of ice cream. I don’t think so.

Our attempt to find ice cream.

The cathedral in Málaga, it was gorgeous, but I mean, it's not Sevilla Catedral... 🙂

So glad I finally got a picture of the bulls on the highway 😀 I love it.

So that was a summary of my trip to Málaga. The trip was short and sweet, but a lot of fun.

On Wednesday at around 4am our time, we are heading out to the busses to MOROCCO!! We are going to bus to the strait of Gibraltar, ferry across, and go travel into the desert! I am so excited, and our host mom has been feeding us tons of yogurt to strengthen our immune systems!

5 Responses to “Málaga”

  1. "Our traveling without moving!..." October 23, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Love Malaga!

  2. pburley@roadrunner.com October 23, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    I look forward to all of your updates. Sounds like a great mini trip. I liked the buildings and loved the swing. Miss you babe.

    • Jess October 24, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      It was a perfect day trip! I loved the combo of beach and mountains- perfect for relaxing! Miss you tooo!

  3. Meg October 24, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    $10 for Ben and Jerry’s?!?!?! Bah! I’m glad your life is lovely! I also love you. Praying for safe travels to Morocco! Be safe! Have funnssss!!!! :*:*:*

    • Jess October 24, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      I KNOW. I was distraught. Thanks sweet friend, I shall try to be so so safe and have alllll the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

