Granada

23 Nov

I must admit, Granada has always been one of my favorite cities in Spain. Not because of the tourist destinations, not because of the beautiful mountains practically in its backyard… No… It is my favorite city because it means pomegranate. I love the symbolism all over Spain. Before I arrived in Spain, I couldn’t tell the difference between Córdoba and Granada, and I thought that going to them in the same weekend would confuse me further, but they are SO different!

To pick up where I left off, we were on our way to Granada! The trip was only a couple of hours, which absolutely flew by considering the last trips we took were 12+ hour journeys into the heart of the Sahara. 2 hours I could handle. We got to our hotel, and it decided to start raining again. Hate that. We got into the (really really fancy) hotel, and got our room keys. The first thing Sav and I decided needed to be done?

Jump on the beds. What else?

There is a great series of shots of the both of us from this adventure. Magic: We didn’t plan to dress alike. It just happens.

After, we wandered a bit til we found a cute restaurant. Most of us ordered drinks (white wine in Spain is better, I’m pretty positive), which came with free tapas! I love Granada. I got this cute and absolutely delicious sandwich with a white alioli sauce. Yums.

After our snack, we headed to Granada’s Plaza Nueva (I say this because Sevilla has one too!) to meet up with our directors. We went on a really uphill walk to a look-out point….

Where we saw the Alhambra, all lit up!

It was absolutely gorgeous, and a great time to just sit and look at the city lights and reflect on my time here. This trip was like that a lot- everyone talking about how silly it is that we just met, and now we’re all friends, and we’re going to go back to our homes across the US and not see each other. How crazy it is that we’ve been here for almost 3 months, and how crazy that we’re leaving so soon. Reminiscing and we’re not even gone. Oy.

So then we head to a flamenco show!

Los Tarantos!

And now… the flamenco show!

Took that video before they told me not to record anything. Oopsies.

Friends at the Flamenco show!

And now, for a few shots from the show!

This show was fabulous! I loved it!

After the show, we went out with a few friends, and then Savannah and I headed back to the hotel to shower, eat some chocolate, and watch Twilight in Spanish! (Who knew Kristen Stewart could act… but only when she is dubbed over in Spanish!)

The next day, we woke up and had a wonderful breakfast. There were delicious jams, rolls, bread, scrambled eggs, among other delightful breakfast-y foods. I love big buffet breakfasts.

Then, we packed up our stuff and headed to the buses to hitch a ride up to the Alhambra.

The scenery was absolutely gorgeous.

La Alhambra!

We saw some gorgeous architecture!

They gave us necklaces too! Yay!

The view from the Alhambra!

And, while we were there, there were newlyweds taking pictures! AH!!!

The beautiful reflecting pool. Love it.

The ceiling of the throne room. There are 7 levels, representing the 'seven heavens.'

One of many beautiful gardens.

A cute bird eating a persimmon!

Seriously. It's almost winter. It is freezing outside. And there are gardens like this still completely flourishing. I love that.

More gardens!

Me and the city!

The mountains in the background of the city.

After visiting the Alhambra, we had a couple hours to eat. We happened across a string trio, and stopped to listen for a while, and Dan and I decided that we wanted to grab a coffee.

In the process, we ended up losing the rest of our group, so we decided to eat. We stopped by a small restaurant, and I had an amazing sandwich- cream cheese and turkey. Who would have thought? We got a piece of cake to go, and ate it on a bench. We had both been feeling kinda anti-social, but we had a really great talk waiting for the bus. When our friends got back to the bus, we all ran out for ice cream. We had to eat it so fast, because we  couldn’t take it on the bus. After that, it was a short 3 hour journey back to Sevilla. All in all, a really great trip!

Tomorrow, ISA is throwing us a Thanksgiving Dinner, and Friday, we’re taking a day trip to Ronda! I am so excited!

More details to come!!

2 Responses to “Granada”

  1. Meg November 23, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    I love the videos! Can those guys come here and play at my wedding??? Seriously. Also the pictures of the flamenco dancers are really nice!

    • Jess November 23, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Thank you 😀 And… I mean I can ask them? 🙂 I’ll work on it!

Leave a Reply

